Tennessee passed a state law requiring pool alarms on all new residential swimming pools.
The law is known as "Katie Beth's Law" after Tennessee State Senator Charlotte Burks 17 month old great-grandaughter Katie Beth Maynard drowned in an above-ground pool in 2009.
The law applies to all private swimming pools built after January 1, 2011.
As written, Tennessee’s legislation further prohibits an electrical inspector from giving final approval for the pool’s wiring unless an alarm has been installed. In addition, signs reading “State Law Requires a Pool Alarm be Installed” must be posted by anyone who sells a pool.
The first fine is $100 and each fine after that can cost up to $500.
We hope that helps and that you are well on your way to a splash filled day of safe pool time! If you have additional questions, please let us know if the comments below.
Looking for reading material? Our blog is full of fun facts and helpful tips. Check out some of our recommended posts below: